Hr En
Home  >  News  >  Croatia – the 28th member of the European Union

Croatia – the 28th member of the European Union

Zagreb, Croatia – as of 1st July 2013 the Republic of Croatia has become a 28th member of the European Union. This historical event has marked an end of a journey of Croatia towards becoming a member of the Union in the 6th wave of Union's enlargement. Croatia applied for EU membership in 2003 and the European Commission recommended making it an official candidate in early 2004.

Candidate country status was granted to Croatia by the European Council in mid-2004. Croatia finished accession negotiations on 30 June 2011 and on 9 December 2011 signed the Treaty of Accession to become the Union's 28th member. The ratification process was concluded on 21 June 2013.

The celebration held in Zagreb was attended by 170 foreign officials, 15 heads of state, 13 prime ministers as well as the presidents of the European Commission and European Council. "We are here on this historic night. It was your desire to join EU, and your hard work has made this possible," the president of the European Commission, Mr Jose Manuel Barroso, said as he congratulated the thousands of revellers in central Zagreb early Monday.

Croatia's accession marks another milestone in the construction of a united Europe. It also provides fresh evidence of the transformative power of the European Union, Croatia is now a stable democracy, capable of taking on the obligations of EU membership and of adhering to EU standards. SEECEL joins congratulations to the citizens of Croatia which just become a part of a large European family.

Facts about the EU's newest member state - European Parliament
Show Desktop view